(New) India Shapefile with all States and Districts

5/5 - (2 votes)

A shapefile is essential spatial data in a GIS. You can download India Shapefile including India boundary shapefile, Indian shapefile with all states and India district level Shapefiles. Updated Jammu-Kashmir, and Ladakh shapefile included.

Three types of shapefiles are available here.

  1. India boundary shapefile
  2. India shapefile with all states
  3. India district level Shapefiles

Download India Shapefile with official India Boundary

Download India boundary shapefile

India map outline shapefile
India map outline shapefile

5 MB

Download India Administrative Boundary Shapefiles

 Download India shapefile with all states

India State Shapefile download
India State Shapefile download

14 MB

India district level Shapefiles

India Districts shapefile
India Districts shapefile

42 MB

An easy download link for all the India shapefiles is available below. All shapefiles are updated according to the new data.

Presently, there are 28 states and 8 Union territories in the country. Shapefile also included newly developed Jammu and Ladakh, Dadar and Nagar Haveli, and Daman and Diu.

On October 31, 2019, Jammu and Kashmir State was separated into two new Union Territories, namely the Union Territory of Jammu and Kashmir and the Union Territory of Ladakh.

On January 26, 2020, the Union Territory of Daman and Diu and the Union Territory of Dadra and Nagar Haveli were merged into one Union Territory: the Union Territory of Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu.

The India shapefiles available include these recent updates.

I hope It will help you in your educational work.

Shapefiles may contain errors in some cases. Always check your study area.

West Bengal District Shapefiles free download (updated)

Download shapefile of West Bengal along with all districts

Here is a list of all the states in India along with their respective capitals:

  1. Andhra Pradesh – Amaravati
  2. Arunachal Pradesh – Itanagar
  3. Assam – Dispur
  4. Bihar – Patna
  5. Chhattisgarh – Raipur
  6. Goa – Panaji
  7. Gujarat – Gandhinagar
  8. Haryana – Chandigarh (shared with Punjab)
  9. Himachal Pradesh – Shimla
  10. Jharkhand – Ranchi
  11. Karnataka – Bengaluru (Bangalore)
  12. Kerala – Thiruvananthapuram
  13. Madhya Pradesh – Bhopal
  14. Maharashtra – Mumbai
  15. Manipur – Imphal
  16. Meghalaya – Shillong
  17. Mizoram – Aizawl
  18. Nagaland – Kohima
  19. Odisha – Bhubaneswar
  20. Punjab – Chandigarh (shared with Haryana)
  21. Rajasthan – Jaipur
  22. Sikkim – Gangtok
  23. Tamil Nadu – Chennai
  24. Telangana – Hyderabad
  25. Tripura – Agartala
  26. Uttar Pradesh – Lucknow
  27. Uttarakhand – Dehradun
  28. West Bengal – Kolkata

Additionally, India has 8 union territories with their capitals:

  1. Andaman and Nicobar Islands – Port Blair
  2. Chandigarh – Chandigarh
  3. Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu – Daman
  4. Lakshadweep – Kavaratti
  5. Delhi (National Capital Territory of Delhi) – New Delhi
  6. Puducherry – Puducherry
  7. Ladakh – Leh
  8. Jammu and Kashmir – Srinagar (summer capital), Jammu (winter capital)

It’s important to note that the capital cities mentioned above are administrative centers and hold significant political and cultural importance in their respective states or union territories.

N.B. Shapefiles are shared for educational purposes only.

8 thoughts on “(New) India Shapefile with all States and Districts”

  1. Hi therre would yyou mijd letting mee know which web host you’re working with?
    I’ve loaded your blog in 3 completely differeent browserfs and I must say
    this boog loads a llot quuicker thedn most.
    Can you recommnd a good hosting provider at a honest price?
    Thanks, I appreciate it!


Leave a Comment